To help us continue to improve our service, this web site uses cookies. They cannot be used to identify you. Using this site implies an agreement to continue accepting them. For more details please see managing the cookies we use.  

Patients & Visitors


Bowel Cancer Staging

You may hear your doctor talking about ‘Dukes’ or ‘TNM’ stages.

is a simplified sort of classification for staging tumours according to their degree of invasion and spread (Dukes A, B, C, D)

is a more detailed type of staging classification, describing:

  1. The degree of Tumour invasion (T1 to T4)
  2. Node involvement (from N0 which is that no lymph nodes are affected, to N2 where there are 4 or more lymph nodes are affected).
  3. Whether distant Metastases are present or not (also called secondaries). M0 means cancer has not spread. M1 means that it has.

Next Section: Contacts & Useful Links

back to top